Say Bye Bye to my Fear of Technology

My fear of technology accompanies me since I have started working with a computer in elementary school. I am able to do all basics on the computer but deeper knowledge and understanding is absent until the present day. Well, at least that is what I thought before researching for this last post. And I have to admit that I am not that bad if I start approaching technological problems and start actively dealing with technology.

My idea was to combine work and useful.

Work was: Research a topic about technology that interests you.

The useful thing was: Finally becoming better organized with the notes I take for homework and my personal life, organizing my pictures and other files on my computer.

During lecture our professor has introduced us to the software Evernote which I wanted to learn more about but I did not have any incentives to check the software out. But since I made it a part of my homework I had no more excuses.

What is Evernote exactly?

For the ones who have not heard about Evernote before, it is a software that can be compared to a note book. One can write all kinds of notes in form of a text, a link, a full webpage, a photo, voice memo or even a hand written note. These notes can be organized into folders.

I checked out the homepage and read a description about the 7steps to install Evernote.

1st step: Install Evernote by downloading the software

2nd step: Set up your own account

3rd step: Take your first note

4th step: Add your first picture

5th step: How the synchronization works

6th step: Safe webpage content

7th step: More installations can be done such as Evernote for your cell phone, Evernote blog etc.

The steps were explained in detail with pictures where to click- so even a technology foe like me was able to understand the installation and I decided to try it myself.

After setting up Evernote on my laptop I started to work with it and I wrote my first two notes- a text and a handwritten note.

It is fun to discover all functions and I think it will take me a couple of days until I have discovered all functions. I will defiantly use Evernote on a regular basis.

Microsoft Outlook

Some characteristics of Evernote reminded me of Microsoft Outlook– which schedules personal notes in a calendar and organizes e-mails. Although I knew that Microsoft Outlook was already installed on my computer because it is a part of Microsoft Office I was not sure how Outlook works or even how it looks like. I decided to activate my personal information manager to find out if Outlook could be compared to Evernote.

The first step was to use the Auto Account Setup feature which automatically starts and helps you configure account settings for your e-mail accounts. This setup requires only your name, e-mail address, and password.’

This picture shows you how Outlook looked like in the process of configuration:

I could not believe it but the set up was actually done after the configuration. The next thing that Outlook did was importing all of my e-mails which took about 5 minutes. I was able to immediately read all of my e-mails, respond, delete and organize them. It was that simple to get Outlook working on my laptop and I easily figured out all other functions. I wrote my appointments, tasks and meetings in the calendar, I started the address book and I took some notes.

I think that all functions will help me be organized however, it took me quite some time to copy all of by contact details from my hand written address book to the digital one. But I thought if I travel I will be able to easily access these information and I do not have to worry about losing them.

Comparison of Evernote and Outlook

Before setting up Outlook I thought it would be very similar to Evernote. But I learned that Outlook is not specialized in organizing web pages, links and pictures. However, it helps as an e-mail application and schedules appointments and personal notes.

Evernote organizes pictures and web pages and is more detailed about taking longer notes.

I think using both programs together facilitates my organization of notes. One is useful for longer notes such as homework, to write lists and the other convinced me to be reminded of relevant appointments and schedules.

All in all, it is to emphasize that both programs were easy to set up and painless to understand. I will defiantly use them regularly only then I can really say if Evernote and Outlook are useful for everyday purposes.

Both programs have showed me that any fear of technology only limits my personal ability to discover new things. I have realized that I am able to figure out technological programs and software’s and I do not need to be fearful when tasks like these will come in the future.

About natiliab

This is my first real approach concerning blogging. I am 21 and I think it is about time to enter the world of blogging. I study ‘International Business Management’ in Berlin-one of my favorite cities. My interests are business, politics, arts, travelling…. View all posts by natiliab

4 responses to “Say Bye Bye to my Fear of Technology

  • garcianana

    Hey Natalie,

    Your post provides a nice overview on how Evernote and Outlook work
    and I think it was quite a clever approach to compare the two of them to each other. Maybe you could try shortening up your article a little bit or only focusing on the most important aspects of your learning outcome. Nice job of illustrating your approach by listing your steps and implimenting screenshots.

  • garcianana

    Hey Natalie,

    Your post provides a nice overview on how Evernote and Outlook work
    and I think it was quite a clever approach to compare the two of them to each other. Maybe you could try shortening up your article a little bit or only focuse on the most important aspects of your learning outcome. Nice job of illustrating your approach by listing your steps and implimenting screenshots.

  • garcianana

    Hi Natalie,
    It was a pleasure to read your post.First of all; it is well structured and easy to follow.,but there is another thing which took my attention more. For the last posts we all focused something,explained how it works and advantages of using it. On the other hand, you took two things and compared them successfuly. I have to confess that i also have a microsoft outlok on my computer (automatically) but had never tried to figure out how it works and why i need such a tool like that. Your explanation and comparison it with the ” Evernote” made me impressed. well done =)

  • tuucce

    Hi Natalie,
    It was a pleasure to read your post.First of all; it is well structured and easy to follow.,but there is another thing which took my attention more. For the last posts we all focused something,explained how it works and advantages of using it. On the other hand, you took two things and compared them successfuly. I have to confess that i also have a microsoft outlok on my computer (automatically) but had never tried to figure out how it works and why i need such a tool like that. Your explanation and comparison it with the ” Evernote” made me impressed. well done =)

Leave a Reply

